Posted by: Brianarmh | 19 October 2009

Intense midterms, procrastination, and time management

I can’t believe we’re over halfway through October already! That is nuts, where is my semester going! Registration for winter semester is already open, which means before I know it I’ll be starting new classes with new professors again! Its already Mid-terms week!

I had one and a half last week, one and a half today, and two more this week. This morning I had my Communities & Societies midterm. This is my glorified social studies class. The midterm was intense! 53 short answer and T/F questions, 3 short answer questions, and a 3-4 page essay, all in 50 minutes!

I’ve somehow developed this skill of reading and writing super fast under pressure. So I managed to finish all of it. However, if I had been given ten more minutes my essay would have been exponentially better. I know there was quite a few people who didn’t finish their essays, and some who barely got started at all. The guy next to me only got one paragraph done! I think 50 minutes is a little bit short for that much to do! The worst thing is that people who didn’t get much of an essay done will get marked lower, and its not because they may not have the knowledge, but because they didn’t have enough time to get it down on paper!

My second midterm, or half a midterm, in Intro to Cultural Anthropology went much better. However in the hour before I had a minor panic attack when I realized there was an “essay question” posted on blackboard about a topic I was pretty sure we hadn’t covered in class. So I sat there stressing and cramming about this topic I’d never heard of for half an hour before I realized that the website said “FINAL exam essay question”… Briana clearly has a problem with reading entire sentences and paying attention. So I wasted half an hour studying for something I don’t need to know about for two more months. LAME! Anyway, I did study the stuff I needed to know for the rest of the time, and I did okay on midterm I think. She split the test up over two days for us, one day last week for multiple choice questions, and today for short answer. It is way less stressful and easier to study that way. And she gave us 3 different topics we had to write about for short answer questions, and then there was three questions in each of those topics, and we had to pick and answer two of them for each topic. She is an awesome professor!

I have my Intro to Linguistic Anthropology midterm on Wednesday, and I think my Critical Reading and Writing [AKA English] midterm is on Thursday. I have a paper due in that class on Tuesday. I’m having trouble with this because I picked a difficult topic. The point of the whole thing is to pick a purchase of some sort that you feel is wrong ethically or morally. I couldn’t think of anything, and I ended up choosing magazines, then switching to natural gas, and now I can’t find anything about how natural gas use is bad for the environment. So I’m hoping she will be okay with me switching again, this time to water. I think it will be easier to find information about how bad it is to waste water, and what you can do to minimize water consumption. On Tuesday I have to hand in a 2-3 page paper, with two sources, of how I feel this topic compromises my morals and ethics. I think it should be easier to write about water usage than natural gas. We are using up the fresh water on our little planet at an unprecedented rate, and what are we going to do when we run out?

To top off the procrastination and time management topics… I am really bad at time management, therefore I procrastinate a lot. These are things I need to improve on so that my college career, and life in general, is not so stressful! I’m sort of working on it… Sort of. Like I’ve given myself a time-limit to produce this blog entry, and after that I have to do some more research for my paper. Go me, I’m finishing this up early, and I will have a couple minutes to eat and relax before I have to start studying!

Maybe I should make the main topic of my blog time management and try to write about my efforts on that every day/week?

Just a thought since I’m trying to create some goals for my blogging career. Anyway, here’s a pic over my shoulder as I’m writing this… No more snow! Yay!

Photo 261

Responses

  1. Hey, if you want some good reading about water usage and waste, esp. in Canda, Check out the macleans issue from last week? or maybe the week before. It has a very informative article about canadas consumption and waste of water, and lists lots of sources to further glean info from. Cause i am a giant dork who reads macleans, I’m a 65yo man in a 29yo ladys body.Hes is going to hate giving birth. Loves!


Leave a Reply

Categories

